Bristol Fashion Week

Bristol Fashion Week AW 2014

Last Friday I had the pleasure of attending my very first blogging event at the Bristol Fashion Week’s Autumn Winter show. The week long event features 18 catwalk shows of high street fashions. It all takes place at The Mall at Cribbs Causeway and is the largest fashion event in Bristol!

Bristol Fashion Week at The Mall at Cribba Causeway

I was excited to head down to the Mall at Cribbs Causeway. I had never been before, so there was the intrigue of both checking out the mall and seeing the show all in one go. The show I saw was the Live Blogging Show where you were encouraged to tweet and write about your experience. My invite to the event included a pass to a Friday evening bloggers showcase runway show, a raffle ticket for a John Lewis prize, a booklet full of tons of coupons and raffle tickets for stores located in the mall, and a goodie bag that came in a lovely cotton Bristol Fashion Week tote bag.

Colette at Bristol Fashion Week AW 2014

What I wore – Blouse: French label Cache Cache, Skirt: Club Monaco, Tights: H&M, Bag: Danier Leather (barely pictured!).

Leading into the show we were offered light refreshments, during which time I got to talk to a few cool people. I have to admit that I was pretty nervous and didn’t approach as many people as I would have liked this time. It can be a little intimidating being in the mix of little tight knit groups of blogger friends and notably established bloggers! Next time though, I will definitely be more outgoing. (I promise!)

 

John Lewis & Sunglass Hut BFWAW14

John Lewis & Sunglass Hut

The catwalk show blew me away! I have never attended a proper fashion show before, but I had not expected there to be so much acting and dancing as was involved. It was a highly entertaining event. The scenes were all thoughtfully laid out and in tune with the season. Models ranged in ages and sizes from adorable children to sophisticated older women. And my favourite, was a gent sporting a delicious little mun! (I have quite the mun obsession.)

 

Business Mun BFWAW14

Business Mun

Designers included John Lewis, Marks & Spencer, Gap, River Island, Jack Wills, Next, Rayban, Vision Express, Lipsy, Clark’s, Timberland, CC/Viyella, Austin Reed,ย  Warehouse, Phase Eight, Oasis, and Karen Millen. And the show fabulously tied into the mall’s offerings. All of the runway pieces that can be found within the mall have “Featured in Bristol’s Fashion Week” tags on them, making it easy for fashionistas to pick up their favourite items.

 

Next Children, River Island, Lipsy, Claire's BFWAW14

Next Children, River Island, Lipsy, Claire’s

 

Warehouse, Timberland BFWAW14

Warehouse, Timberland

Tickling My Fancy: I enjoyed the amount of capes and oversized shalls that were being showcased for both women and men. I am also a sucker for coloured stockings, so the bright red, royal blue, burgundy, and silver sparkly tights were great to see on the catwalk. Over the knee socks are another look that I’ve been enjoying for quite some time, but I’m planning to up my game on that front this season. Also, hats. I love hats, but I want to branch out from the slouchy berets and beanies I’m prone to wearing.

Jack Wills, John Lewis BFWAW14

Jack Wills, John Lewis

 

Bristol Fashion Week Blogger Show Finale 2014

The Big Finale!

Hot Trends: Mixing prints and fabrics will be a huge trend, as well as flat clunky and metallic loafers. Lace in all forms is still good to go into autumn/winter 2014. There were a lot of 1970s inspired designs, though the last scene of the show was dedicated to the 60s. And if you’re thinking about your next coat purchase you’re good to go in any kind of parka, faux fur, or brightly coloured coat.

 

John Lewis BFWAW14

John Lewis

 

Phase Eight BFWAW14

Phase Eight

Another highlight of the show were styling tips from fashion stylist Mark Heyes, and hair tips from celebrity hairdresser Andrew Barton. Including this one I tweeted. I was happy to hear that statement hair accessories like facinators and rhinestone hairbands are continuing trends. I’m dying to get my hands on the perfect sparkly hair statement piece… some kitty ears perhaps!

 

Fashion Stylist Mark Heyes BFWAW14

Fashion Stylist Mark Heyes

 

Celebrity Hairdresser Andrew Barton BFWAW14

Celebrity Hairdresser Andrew Barton & a gorgeous hair accessory from John Lewis!

Well there you have it, my first fashion and blogging event experience! Are there are any autumn winter trends that you are looking forward to testing out? Anything from your personal style that you see creeping into the high street? I’d love to know!

 

Thigh high socks and fashion muns,

Colette xx

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bristol Fashion Week

  1. Pingback: Focus on the Positives | Love, Letty

Leave a Reply

