Full Moon Urban Retreat

 

Sarah & Jayne Full Moon Urban Retreat

For a while now I’ve been feeling out of touch with myself. One way or another, we can all find ourselves moving mindlessly through our days instead of actively living. I for one don’t have anything amazing come my way during these phases and even the happiest occasions aren’t as bright as they could have been.

It’s hard to give yourself the attention you need when your schedule and responsibilities get extra hectic. I haven’t been doing any daily practices or getting time to work on the things that make my heart sing. The result has been a very stressed and anxiety ridden form of myself. I realized that as the year was coming to an end, I was constantly in a panic and confused about what my goals are and what the point is to the humdrum rhythm of my life.

When I saw that my good friend Sarah from The Laughing Medusa was putting on a retreat with Jayne from She Is The Revolution, I instantly knew it was exactly what I needed. The Full Moon Urban Retreat focused on desire by both reflecting on your past year and channelling your intentions for the year ahead. Despite being busy with a million looming deadlines, I committed to going to London for Saturday, December 6th to participate in the retreat. And I’m SO GLAD that I did!

The Full Moon Urban Retreat coincided with Gemini full moon, a perfect time for releasing the past year and invoking new intentions. It was a wonderful day filled with healthy food, guided self-reflection, qoya, meditation, and an opportunity to connect with other strong, amazing women.

Full Moon Retreat 1

What a beautiful and enriching experience! Sarah, Jayne, and their wonderful volunteers greeted us with hugs and gave everyone a chance to settle into the space with hot tea and fresh nibbles. The day more formally began with introductions from our goddess leaders and an “om” meditation, instantly unifying 40 brilliant ladies and setting a warm tone for the rest of the day.

There were so many moments from the day that I am still continually feeling grateful for. Both during the guided exercises and during the chances we got to mingle with the goddesses we were sharing our experiences with.

One of the highlights for me was definitely discovering my love for qoya. I had never experienced qoya before, not surprisingly as Jayne is the only teacher in the UK. However, I had heard about it and thought it was very intriguing. Well let me tell you, from the moment our DJ-slash-qoya-goddess-Jayne hit play and we started to move, I knew that qoya is what my life has been missing. I am sure you will hear a lot more about this in the coming days, as I am now officially obsessed and am seriously scheming to make qoya a more permanent fixture in my life. Anyway, Jayne was amazing at helping us move through our emotions using qoya, everyone in the room felt a weight off their shoulders after the experience. If you’d like to know more about qoya visit her blog.

Qoya at Full Moon Urban Retreat

After a gorgeously nutritious lunch, Sarah led us through a “spring cleaning” exercise that helped us clear our cobwebs and explore our inner feelings about our personal desires.

I’ve never done this kind of work with other people. Up until this retreat, chatting with my girlfriends over a glass of wine was the closest I ever got to exploring my inner desires among other people. Our focus was desire in its pure and simple form. For 15 minutes we each used another woman who we’d never really spoken to to sound our inner thoughts and findings off of – without judgment and without comment. I’m pretty positive that everyone in the room learned something new about them selves, or finally vocalized a feeling they’ve been harbouring. It was another one of the most magical moments of the day for me. There is something very powerful and transformative about watching another person become open and vulnerable in front to you. I am in love with engaging in this kind of human authenticity because it’s so beautiful. It is a reminder that we are all connected and can profoundly help each other in simple ways.

Qoya at the Full Moon Urban Retreat 2

The Full Moon Urban Retreat was highly successful and delivered exactly what any goddess soul needs. The event was well sponsored with treats from Rude Health and Teapigs, as well as goody bags filled with bits from Napiers, Crown & Glory, Galaxy Rox Jewellery, Veronica Dearly, Rachel Gale, and Pretty Utopian. Jayne and Sarah did an excellent job of guiding the pack of wise and willing women through a rejuvenating day. I am grateful that I was able to attend and meet so many wonderful people. It was so much fun! Next up, I hope to reconnect with some of the people I met at the retreat and search out communities in Bristol to connect with closer to home.

A retreat isn’t the only way to get clear on your desires and prepare for the new year. During the past few weeks I’ve been continuing to write gratitude lists, reflect on my past year, and prepare my intentions for the year ahead. You can do these things without spending a dime and you’ll feel so much better for it. If you need help or want to have a chat about these things, please don’t hesitate to contact me, I’d love to lend a hand.

To all your desires and dreams coming true,

Colette x

 

All photographs are by Katherine Rothman

One thought on “Full Moon Urban Retreat

  1. Pingback: Tarot Card Reading from Kisses & Chaos | Love, Letty

Leave a Reply

