BlogConf 2015 in Bristol

BlogConf Bristol 2015

BlogConf is a wonderful blogging conference aimed at bloggers of all levels and genres. It’s a new conference on the UK scene, which held its first event in Swansea during October 2014. It’s second event took place last Saturday in Bristol at the Racks Bar & Kitchen. Tickets were £45, but early bird tickets were £35, if you were able to snag one (like I did). Tickets included the full day of talks, a pen with a custom notebook for the day, lunch, the option to stay afterwards to network, and a great little goody bag from their sponsors.

This was the first blogging conference I’ve ever attended and I was a little nervous about what I might get out of the day. I’ve only been on the blogging scene for about a year, but I think it’s time to start putting a lot more effort into this space to see where it could go. So, I thought I’d cough up the cash and see what BlogConf could offer. It turns out that BlogConf was exactly the kind of event I was looking for to get equal doses of valuable information and easy networking. The full day event was filled with wonderful information from a variety of speakers with plenty of time to chat and make new friends.

Lara Watson & Lottie Stoery at BlogConf

The Bristol event took place at Racks Bar in Clifton where the staff were helpful and conscious of the fact that our event space was right next to their bustling kitchen. We arrived just before 10am, settled into one of the tables and had time to introduces ourselves to our neighbours before the first talk. There was a slight mix up with the first speaker and we were unable to have the full talk on monetizing blogs, but this didn’t put a damper on the day as it was absolutely chalk full of valuable information.

Danny T at BlogConf 2015

The Speakers

The speakers at BlogConf all had their own form of wisdom to share and style of presentation. One talk included exercises for us to do among ourselves, one was a kind of Q&A session, one had live demos, and others shared personal experiences of bloggers to help newcomers and veteran bloggers alike connect with the realities of blogging. There was range of personal and professional expertise for all us attendees to benefit from. And we did! Between each speaker we all feverishly talked about the great and interesting facts we had just learned. My little BlogConf book was a burst with notes by the end of the day.

Our talks included:

Joe Stutter – How to Improve Your Online Presence for Success

Lara Watson & Lottie Storey from Mollie Makes – Freelancing & Magazines

Danny T – Photography

Gemma M & Mel Peck from Trunki – Working with Brands

Will Guyatt from Instagram – PR & Social Media

Olivia Wellings – Vlogging

Sophie Bolton – My Blogging Story

Will Guyatt at BlogConf 2015

By the end of the day, I was completely knackered but feeling highly motivated. I was happy that I’d bought a ticket (which had completely sold out!) and committed my Saturday to BlogConf. I’m sure I’ll be able to revisit my notes again and again for guidance and inspiration.

Throughout the day BlogConf ran a competition for activity on their social media pages. I would have spent a portion of my day tweeting and instagraming interesting moments anyway, but I made an extra effort with the running competition. I was very pleasantly surprised at the end of the day when I actually won! That never happens to me! As a prize I was given a lovely gift box from Lush which I’m over the moon with as I’ve been dying to try some of their products!

Lush Box Prize at BlogConf 2015

One of the best aspects of the day was all of the amazing people I connected with. They made the day so much more enjoyable and added a lot to the experience. I met a bunch of new bloggers and business owners that were simply inspiring to talk to. I hope to have made a few new friends that I’ll be able to see regularly in Bristol!

Goody bag from BlogConf Bristol 2015

BlogConf moves around the country for its events, and the next one is already scheduled to take place in Glasgow. For more information, or to get involved as a speaker or sponsor, take a look at their website. I would highly recommend BlogConf to anyone who is looking to get their blog off of the ground and connect with like minded bloggers.

If you have any questions about my experience at BlogConf, please feel free to comment or email me!

Do you know of any other great blogging conferences or networking events? I’d love to know.

Hearts and blogger power,

Colette xx

Leave a Reply

